Call 1-800-273-TALK (8255) for immediate help.


I need help   what can I do   I want to learn more

About Community For Hope

Mission Statement

We are community members united for the purpose of promoting and supporting mental wellness and building awareness about suicide prevention, intervention and response, as well as grief support for surviving family members and friends.

Contact Us

Debbie Peters, Executive Director

2700 W. 9th Avenue, Suite 100

Oshkosh, WI  54904


Anyone interested in working on suicide prevention initiatives in our community is welcome to join us.



Providing community-based suicide prevention training using the nationally known method, QPR (Question, Persuade, Refer).

QPR Gatekeeper Training is free of charge, requires approx. 90 minutes.  Training can be done for ANYONE!

If you're interested in getting trained in QPR, contact: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 920-230-4840

Supporting the state DPI's Signs of Suicide prevention and intervention ACT (Acknowledge, Care, Tell) program for students, teachers, and staff.

Creating and providing age appropriate school folders for students in grades 1 - 12 to help them understand the warning signs of suicide and to know what to do in order to seek help.

Supporting and providing speakers for businesses, civic organizations, clubs, and churches to raise suicide awareness.



Collaborating with school administrators, teachers, counselors and social workers to support suicide prevention, intervention and response efforts in the school system.


Sponsoring and facilitating a S.O.S.L. (Survivors of Suicide Loss), which is a grief support group of and for family, friends, classmates and colleagues of those who have died by suicide.  A Teen S.O.S.L. Group also meets when needed.


All donations are greatly appreciated.  Your donation is tax deductible. 


Over 35 community members, including school administrators, therapists, religious leaders and concerned parents, are currently active in Community For Hope.

Board Members

President: Dr. Susan Szabo, Ascension Health Systems

Vice President: Dan Hinton, Winnebago County Health & Human Services

Treasurer: Patti Ahrens, Fox Valley Physical Therapy

Secretary: Courtney Shears, Ascension Health Systems


  • Don Merz, Retired
  • Matthew Kaemmerer, Oshkosh Area School District
  • Kristin Mahoney, Neenah Joint School District
  • Kimberly Maki, Winnebago County Coroner’s Office
  • Gerald Smalls, Winnebago County Veterans Services
  • Matthew Thomas, Konrad-Behlman Funeral Homes
  • Daphne Lewis, UW-Oshkosh
  • Debbie Peters, Executive Director, Community for Hope
  • Emily Schwartz, Adjunct Member, Leadership Oshkosh

Non-Profit Status

Community For Hope is an IRS-recognized 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. All contributions are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law.

Contact Information

New Address:

Mercy-Oakwood Center
2700 W. 9th Avenue, Suite 100
Oshkosh, WI 54904

Phone (Information & Voicemail):

920-230-4840 (This is not a crisis number)


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.